Example of Custom Powershell Script Using SCOM Run-As-Profile Account For Log In

Hi,

I am fairly new to SquaredUp and we are currently in a POC. I am struggling on how to map out Availability for a web application where a login is required using SCOM run-as-profiles. Additionally, I would love any ideas around how to indicate availability for an application that has no web end from the end-user perspective and does have infrastructure components involved in the mapping.

Hi Mandy,

Not sure regarding the Availability monitoring. I’ve used that in the past, but I’ve not delved into it specifically like this.

I have done what you are asking with standalone monitors/rules though with a rough example as follows.

In the MP you just need to pass the RunAs profile in as a parameter to your script:

<ScriptName>MyScript.ps1</ScriptName>
<ScriptBody>$IncludeFileContent/Scripts/MyScript.ps1$</ScriptBody>
<Parameters>
  <Parameter>
	<Name>sourceID</Name>
	<Value>$Config/SourceID$</Value>
  </Parameter>
  <Parameter>
	<Name>managedEntityID</Name>
	<Value>$Config/ManagedEntityID$</Value>
  </Parameter>
  <Parameter>
	<Name>UserName</Name>
	<Value>$RunAs[Name="ManagementPack.ID.Path.RunAsProfile"]/UserName$</Value>
  </Parameter>
  <Parameter>
	<Name>Password</Name>
	<Value>$RunAs[Name="ManagementPack.ID.Path.RunAsProfile"]/Password$</Value>
  </Parameter>

And then just bring them into the PowerShell and do whatever is required on the other end.

#Bring in our parameters
param($sourceID, $managedEntityID, $UserName, $Password)

#Convert to PsCredential (or can do it manually in the headers of whatever is required)
$Credential = [pscredential]::new($UserName,$Password)

#Make the call out
$Results = Invoke-RestMethod -Uri 'https://whatever.tld' -Method Get -Credential $Credential

So not sure if that will help from an Availability point of view.

Might also be worth contacting support. They often have good ideas and this might be a feature request in the making!